R. Kelly Cordially Invites You to 'Share My Love'

"Let's do what we were born to do: populate!"

R. Kelly
Marc Hogan

A third installment of the one-of-a-kind music-video saga Trapped in the Closet isn't the only sequel R. Kelly has in store for us this year. The powerful-voiced R&B singer-songwriter and recent Future collaborator has confirmed he's also working on a follow-up to 2010's fantastic Love Letter, which will apparently be titled Write Me Back. "Share My Love," the first single, first surfaced online in February, but its lighter-than-air positivity — and overwhelming reproductive urges — could hardly be a better fit for spring.

The song now has a suitably celebratory video by hip-hop veteran Director X, last seen overseeing Drake's second bar mitzvah. Kellz, wearing dark shades and expensive-looking finery, sings and dances in front of sparkling lights, as other well-dressed people enjoy a lavish cocktail reception. "We not gonna call this a video, we calling this a real party," Kelly explained in a behind-the-scenes clip. "Everybody here is VIP."

As for "Share My Love" itself, it suggests Kelly is taking the idea of Write Me Back as a Love Letter sequel delightfully literally. While that album crossed multiple decades of romantic R&B — that wailing guitar solo on "Taxi Cab," for instance, has "Dirty Diana"-era Michael Jackson written all over it — its first video selection, "When a Woman Loves," harked back to the innocence of early-'60s Sam Cooke. "Share My Love," by contrast, leaps ahead to '70s Philly soul, draped in strings and thumping with disco, though with a bit of Kellz' familiar Chicago stepping-music feel, too. The Pied Piper is as charmingly self-aware as ever, too: "Populate!" he booms at a climactic moment, and no one has a bigger grin about it than he does.


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA