Queens of the Stone Age Plan New Album

Queens of the Stone Age
Kevin O'Donnell

For the past two years, Josh Homme has kept his focus on Them Crooked Vultures, his supergroup with Dave Grohl and Led Zeppelin's John Paul Jones. But next month, the guitarist will get back to work with his main act, Queens of the Stone Age. The band will hit the studio to start work on their sixth disc, the follow-up to 2007's Era Vulgaris.

"Everybody seems excited and ready to go," guitarist Dean Fertita tells Billboard.

Fertita says that the group has already started sketching out songs for the record: "We've got so many ideas started already; I guess we'll see what turns out to be everybody's favorite.... It's very much still [Homme's] band, but I think all of us really feel like we've found our space in it and can contribute to it as well."

Meanwhile, QOTSA will reissue their 1998 self-titled debut on January 11. The deluxe edition of Queens of the Stone Age will come bundled with three rare tracks ("The Bronze," "These Aren't the Droids You're Looking For," and "Spiders and Vinegaroons") and be issued on CD and 180-gram double LP. Pick it up at Homme's own Rekords Rekords imprint.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 2 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 3 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31
  • 4 Mystery Skulls — Paralyzed (Single Version) " 02:34
  • 5 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 6 Kevin Morby — We Did It All Wrong " 04:47
  • 7 Kiesza — Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix) " 05:50

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA