Portishead's Barrow Drops 2012 Invada Label Sampler

Alyssa Noel

Today, Portishead's Geoff Barrow's kindly tweet-dropped a new streaming sampler featuring recent and upcoming releases from his eclectic Invada Records roster, including two new tracks from Barrow's own woozy side-project, Beak>. Touted as a taste of the label's 2012 offerings, the mix features no shortage of Barrow side-hustles including the sludgy "Yatton" from Beak>'s anticipated sophomore album to a disco-infused cover of Chromatics' "In the City" by the Beak>-backed journalist-turned-musician, Anika.

The comp begins with a slow-burning atmospheric track from DROKK, a new mystery project by Barrow and composer Ben Salisbury, the first song from a forthcoming album inspired by Mega City One, the fictional metropolis from the Judge Dredd comic book series. Katalyst, a producer for Quaker, Barrow's hip-hop mega group of 35-plus members, rounds out the mix with "Your Beats Smell of Paco Rabanne," a mind-boggling 4-minute-25-second collage of contrasting tempo and textures (there's even a banjo floating in the middle for a few seconds).

Beyond Barrow associates there's also future hits from psych-metal crew Thought Forms, post-punk minimalists the Veees and noise-punk crew DD/MM/YYY's, whose thrashing "Gimme Pizza Mind" was crafted before they parted ways last November.

Fall down this dark-hued 11-track wormhole at the Invada site

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA