Watch Pond's Violent and Triumphant 'Giant Tortoise' Video

Tame Impala's pals set to drop 'Hobo Rocket' in August

Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

It's easiest to think of Pond as the wildebeest to Tame Impala's titular animal. As far-out as the latter get, their Perth, Australia neighbors bring punk rawness and unpredictability to the psych-rock process. But there's no need to choose one or the other — the two bands share a couple of members, and deliver different gifts. Pond will release their fifth album Hobo Rocket on August 6 via Modular, and the first taste is "Giant Tortoise." The song is wild and wooly, but also prone to moments of placid greatness. Backmasked bells and reverbed vocals, interstellar keys and fiery guitars power the thing, while Nick "Paisley Adams" Allbrook lobs heavy existentialisms into the air: "Why would I even try?" he asks at one point, and he may be onto something. Pond feels unedited and effortless. The clip above offers apt accompaniment, comprising mostly found footage of people doing violent and triumphant things.

Pond, Hobo Rocket track list:

1. "Whatever Happened to the Million Head Collide"
2. "Xanman"
3. "O Darma"
4. "Aloneaflameaflower"
5. "Giant Tortoise"
6. "Hobo Rocket"
7. "Midnight Mass (at the Market Street Payphone)"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 2 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 3 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 4 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 5 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 6 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 7 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA