Phoenix's New Album Will Be Out in April

Label confirms recording for fifth studio LP is finished

Phoenix's Thomas Mars / Photo by Getty Images
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Phoenix are prepared to rise again with a new album in April 2013, Glassnote head Daniel Glass announced at a Spotify press conference today. Toward the end of the event, Glass oh-so-casually tossed it out there that he'd just learned via a phone call with the band that recording had finished at a Paris studio.

Not much more is known about the follow-up to 2009's breakthrough Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix. Singer Thomas Mars said in 2011 that the as-yet-untitled LP will find the group exploring uncharted territory. "It's very experimental, it's very minimal music," he said. "There's something a little frustrating when you do pop music... We'd like to go somewhere else, we want to change that DNA." He went on to describe the new material as "nostalgic, futuristic."

Apparently, the answer to "Where would you go?" is "forward."


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA