Watch Phoenix's Full, No-Nonsense 'Live on Letterman' Set and Interview

French band mixed old and new in intimate performance

Marc Hogan

Phoenix are a band for all stages. At Coachella, the French band headlined for more than 70,000 festival-goers. Though their "Live on Letterman" performance last night was streaming live for the Internet, they played to a room of fewer than 700 people at New York City's Hudson Theatre. The forceful set spanned the band's early material up to their very good new album Bankrupt!.

Phoenix also sat down for a "Live on Letterman" interview, which you can watch below (only after reading our cover story on the band, of course). Plus, coming off stops at Jimmy Kimmel Live!and Saturday Night Live, Phoenix were the on-air musical guests for Late Show With David Letterman, as well, performing a medley of Bankrupt!'s "Trying to Be Cool" and "Drakkar Noir," which you can watch at the bottom here.


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA