Phantogram Fight Their Demons in Beautiful 'Black Out Days' Video

Synth-pop duo share another dark heater from their 'Voices' return LP

Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

New York synth-pop artistes Phantogram just announced their long-awaited sophomore album, Voices, with the powerful "Fall in Love." A week later, we've got a video for the previously unheard "Black Out Days." Seen above, the Evan Spencer Brace-directed clip features a gorgeously shot barrage of shifting imagery. In the beginning all we get is textures — tape, paint, milk, hair, feathers, fur, metal, bone — but as the song progresses, raw anguish is painted across the screen. In between, Sarah Barthel pops like she's in a rap video, and producer Josh Carter gives us some serious looks of longing. The track itself combines chopped beats, synth grooves, and elemental vocals. Speaking of, we get what may be the February 18 Republic Records release's titular line: "A thousand voices howling in my head."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA