Stream Parquet Courts' Feral 'Tally All The Things That You Broke' EP

Brooklyn/Texas quartet break out the quirks on follow-up to 'Light Up Gold'

Parquet Courts, 'Tally All the Things That You Broke' EP, stream
From Parquet Courts' 'Tally All the Things That You Broke' EP cover art
Dan Reilly

Parquet Courts started 2013 with the irreverent, Essential album Light Up Gold, and the Brooklyn-via-Texas band isn't through breaking things. The Tally All the Things That You Broke EP, due out October 8 via What's Your Rupture?, is streaming now at Parquet Courts' website.

The five-song effort builds on the quirks of the Fergus & Geronimo affiliates' breakout album: Poppy, recorder-aided "You've Got Me Wonderin' Now" flows into the dirtier "Descend (The Way)." Then the band takes a hard left into "The More It Works," a five-minute rant/freakout that builds up to a tense conclusion before settling into the brisk, bluesier "Fall on Yr Face." Things get really weird at the end: Clocking in at more than seven and a half minutes, "He's Seeing Paths" sounds like a Bushwick-born take on Butthole Surfers' "Pepper," minus the hook.

Parquet Courts will celebrate the release with a Brooklyn show tonight (October 2) before playing October 5 and October 12 at Austin City Limits.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA