Stream Outfit's Dusky, Danceable Debut Album 'Performance'

Hot Chip-esque LP on its way thanks to Double Denim Records

Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Since they first emerged in 2011, Liverpool's Outfit have issued a number of apocalyptic-pop singles ("Every Night I Dress Up As You," "Firemen Don't Fly") and the R&B-inflected 2012 EP Another Nights Dreams Reach Earth Again. Now, the noir five-piece are ready to drop their self-produced debut album, Performance, on August 12. The 10-track mood piece marries tight, dance-friendly live instrumentation and meticulously crafted samples that draw from field recordings and everyday noises. Despite their tendency to skew dark, Outfit are often compared to another synth-savvy U.K. crew: Hot Chip. Guitarist Nick Hunt acknowledged the comparison in a recent interview with Fact, saying, "Even though I think we make different music, I completely get the connection... Our record is influenced texturally and sonically by a lot of bands Hot Chip are also influenced by, like This Heat and Cluster." 

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Santiparro — The Benefit of Confrontation " 04:49
  • 2 Soda Fabric — Teenage Illusion " 04:03
  • 3 Walter Lukens — Every Night " 02:55
  • 4 Sarah Bethe Nelson — Paying " 05:47
  • 5 Faith Healer — Again " 02:57
  • 6 Death Cab for Cutie — Black Sun " 04:49
  • 7 OOFJ — I Forgive You " 03:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA