Hear Orangatang's Elliptical, Electronic 'That's Where I'll Go'

California experimentalists go widescreen on new track

Orangatang That's Where I'll Be Stream
Presumably one of Orangatang's three members, though they aren't saying much.
Colin Joyce

Orangatang is a band of California tinkerers who've slowly mined the open, airy space of overlap between gauzy shoegaze instrumentals and body-heaving beat-pop. Just a month after their last Bandcamp missive, they return today with "That's Where I'll Go," a blunted instrumental that takes hazy, post-Panda Bear vocal harmonies to their logical extension. 

The track sputters in fits and starts, but eventually settles into a Balearic-indebted groove that places Orangatang in similar realms to Delorean or Air France. Though their Bandcamp says the trio is composed of David Korrigan, Justin Anastasio, and Max O'Reilly, apparently that lineup isn't static. But whatever combination of players they've settled on here works pretty well. Stream the track below.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA