Hear Ola Podrida's Electric Return 'Staying In'

From the David Wingo-led outfit's latest full-length, 'Ghosts Go Blind,' due April 30 on Western Vinyl

Ola Podrida / Photo by Aubrey Edwards
Ola Podrida / Photo by Aubrey Edwards
David Bevan WRITTEN BY
David Bevan

Since his last full-length under the Ola Podrida guise, 2009's Belly of the Lion, David Wingo has kept busy: He collaborated with fellow Texans Explosions in the Sky on the score for director and longtime creative partner David Gordon Greene's Prince Avalanche, a new film starring Paul Rudd and Emile Hirsche; he teamed up with Lucero to score Mud, a new Reese Witherspoon and Matthew McConaughey vehicle directed by Jeff Nichols, the same man for whom Wingo also just scored Take Shelter in 2011. But late last year, Wingo made time to hunker down with his band in Austin, Texas, where, together, the foursome put Ghosts Go Blind to tape. A full-length effort that breaks from winsome, unplugged folk textures previously associated with Wingo's outfit, it's an electric, often heartbreaking indie-rock record that finds Wingo, long known for his film scores, developing further as a lyricist as well. "Staying In" is evidence of that. 

Ola Podrida — Staying In

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA