Oasis' Noel Gallagher Working on Solo Album

Noel Gallagher (Photo: Statia Photography/Retna)
Kevin O'Donnell

Liam Gallagher dropped his first post-Oasis track with his new band Beady Eye earlier this month. Now, his estranged brother Noel is ratcheting up the competition: the songwriter and guitarist is currently working on his debut solo album.

In an interview with the BBC, Miles Kane (who plays in Alex Turner's Last Shadow Puppets) revealed he laid down a track with Noel. "I play guitar on one of his songs for his album," Kane said. "I was only there for a couple of hours. I did my thing."

Earlier this year, Noel said not to expect any new material soon - but Liam's new project seems to have sparked some sibling rivalry in Noel.

Kane says the collaboration came about after he asked Noel to cameo on Kane's own solo album, My Fantasy, which is due out next year. Kane sent his pitch to him via text message. "I was mixing the record and I was going to do these harmonies to give it a boost - it was a bit flat," he said. "I text [Gallagher] saying, 'I need some icing on this tune,' and he said, 'Icing is what I do very well.'"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA