No Doubt: "Tour But No Album in 2009"

No Doubt
Melissa Goldstein

Sorry, No Doubt fans, you're going to have to wait for new music. The SoCal punk and ska quartet recently spurred excitement with the announcement of a new album and tour, but according to drummer Adrian Young, the record, originally rumored to drop in 2009, won't be out next year. But that's not to say the band is twiddling their thumbs.

"We've been working on a new record off and on now for a bit of time, and we're going to continue to work on a new record next year," Young told MTV. "We're going to start touring in the spring of '09 through the summer, and we're going to continue to work on music while we're traveling. [We'll have] a mobile studio on the bus and eventually get to a new No Doubt record."

Eventually!?!?!? It's already been seven years -- come on, guys!

As for the forthcoming record's sound, Young claims it's "too early to tell." But there's one thing he knows for sure: "What makes us feel really good is reggae music. I can play reggae music to my grave."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA