Nirvana's Huge 'In Utero' Reissue Promises Unreleased 'Forgotten Tune'

20th anniversary edition of band's final LP features outtakes, alternate mixes, and much more

nirvana, in utero, reissue, deluxe edition
Nirvana's 'In Utero' cover
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Details have emerged regarding the "treasure trove" of extras planned for the upcoming 20th anniversary reissue of Nirvana's legendary third album, In Utero. As Rolling Stone points out, the fast-approaching "Super Deluxe Edition" box set will contain two versions of In Utero (the original LP remastered as well as a newly remixed variation), plus more than 40 tracks of unreleased rehearsals, demos, live performances, and B-sides, in addition to a newly discovered, never-before-heard instrumental aptly titled "Forgotten Tune."

The retrospective, which arrives September 24 via Universal Records, will come in a number of formats, including a standard digital/CD remaster and a triple-vinyl LP collection; the "Super Deluxe Edition" mentioned above promises a total of three CDs and a single DVD. Disc one features a remaster of the original Steve Albini-produced record, complete with two classic tracks ("Heart-Shaped Box" and "All Apologies") that Scott Litt mixed for the full-length's final version. Alternate Albini mixes of those two songs, which have been circulating as bootlegs for years, will legally appear on the redux, along with Litt's remixed single version of "Pennyroyal Tea" and a slew of In Utero-era B-sides and non-album cuts: "Marigold," "Moist Vagina," "Gallons of Rubbing Alcohol Flow Through the Strip," "Sappy," and "I Hate Myself and I Want to Die." Remastering for all of these songs took place at Abbey Road Studios. 

Disc two consists of a new "2013 album mix" of the full 12-track LP, but it's not yet clear if this will be Albini's more visceral version of In Utero or an entirely new take. Also highlighted: demo versions of eight of In Utero's 12 songs, plus Dave Grohl's first-ever solo recording, a 1990 edition of "Marigold." The third disc houses a remastered recording of Nirvana's December 13, 1993 concert at Seattle's Pier 48, which was broadcast as Live and Loud on MTV; the reissue's DVD contains footage of the entire concert, in addition to a dozen more performances featuring Live and Loud rehearsals, Nirvana's European tour in support of In Utero, and a director's cut of the iconic "Heart-Shaped Box" video

The "Super Deluxe Edition" is currently available for pre-order via Amazon, priced at $150. To make sense of all these extras and bonus cuts, find the full track list below.

In Utero 20th Anniversary Reissue Super Deluxe Edition track list: 

Disc One: 
1. "Serve The Servants" (Albini mix/original release)
2. "Scentless Apprentice" (Albini mix/original release)
3. "Heart-Shaped Box" (Litt mix/original release)
4. "Rape Me" (Albini mix/original release)
5. "Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle" (Albini mix/original release)
6. "Dumb" (Albini mix/original release)
7. "Very Ape" (Albini mix/original release)
8. "Milk It" (Albini mix/original release)
9. "Pennyroyal Tea" (Albini mix/original release)
10. "Radio Friendly Unit Shifter" (Albini mix/original release)
11. "tourette's" (Albini mix/original release)
12. "All Apologies" (Litt mix/original release)
13. "Gallons Of Rubbing Alcohol Flow Through The Strip" (ex-U.S. bonus track)
14. "Marigold" (B-side b/w "Heart Shaped Box)
15. "Moist Vagina" (B-side b/w "All Apologies")
16. "Sappy"
17. "I Hate Myself And Want To Die"
18. "Pennyroyal Tea" (Litt mix)
19. "Heart-Shaped Box" (Albini mix/unreleased)
20. "All Apologies" (Albini mix/unreleased)

Disc Two:
1. "Serve The Servants" (2013 mix)
2. "Scentless Apprentice" (2013 mix)
3. "Heart-Shaped Box" (2013 mix)
4. "Rape Me" (2013 mix)
5. "Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle" (2013 mix)
6. "Dumb" (2013 mix)
7. "Very Ape" (2013 mix)
8. "Milk It" (2013 mix)
9. "Pennyroyal Tea" (2013 mix)
10. "Radio Friendly Unit Shifter" (2013 mix)
11. "tourette's" (2013 mix)
12. "All Apologies (2013 mix)
13. "Scentless Apprentice" (Rio demo)
14. "Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle" (Laundry Room demo)
15. "Dumb" (Word Of Mouth demo)
16. "Very Ape" (Rio demo)
17. "Pennyroyal Tea" (Word Of Mouth demo)
18. "Radio Friendly Unit Shifter" (Word Of Mouth demo)
19. "tourette's" (Word Of Mouth demo)
20. "Marigold" (Upland Studios demo)
21. "All Apologies" (Music Source demo)
22. "Forgotten Tune" (Rehearsal)
23. "Jam" (Word Of Mouth demo)

Disc Three: (Live and Loud: Live at Pier 48, Seattle, WA - 12/13/93)
1. "Radio Friendly Unit Shifter"
2. "Drain You"
3. "Breed"
4. "Serve The Servants"
5. "Rape Me"
6. "Sliver"
7. "Pennyroyal Tea"
8. "Scentless Apprentice"
9. "All Apologies"
10. "Heart-Shaped Box"
11. "Blew"
12. "The Man Who Sold The World"
13. "School"
14. "Come As You Are"
15. "Lithium"
16. "About a Girl"
17. "Endless, Nameless"

Disc Four: (DVD - Live & Loud: Live at Pier 48, Seattle, WA - 12/13/93)
1. "Radio Friendly Unit Shifter"
2. "Drain You"
3. "Breed"
4. "Serve The Servants"
5. "Rape Me"
6. "Sliver"
7. "Pennyroyal Tea"
8. "Scentless Apprentice"
9. "All Apologies"
10. "Heart-Shaped Box"
11. "Blew"
12. "The Man Who Sold The World"
13. "School"
14. "Come As You Are"
15. "Lithium"
16. "About a Girl"
17. "Endless, Nameless"

DVD Extras: 
18. "Very Ape" (Live and Loud rehearsal) 
19. "Radio Friendly Unit Shifter" (Live and Loud rehearsal) 
20. "Rape Me" (Live and Loud rehearsal) 
21. "Pennyroyal Tea" (Live and Loud rehearsal) 
22. "Heart-Shaped Box" (Original Music Video and Director’s Cut) 
23. "Rape Me" (Live on "Nulle Part Ailleurs" – Paris, France) 
24. "Pennyroyal Tea" (Live on "Nulle Part Ailleurs" – Paris, France) 
25. "Drain You" (Live on "Nulle Part Ailleurs" – Paris, France) 
26. "Serve The Servants" (Live on “Tunnel” – Rome, Italy) 
27. "Radio Friendly Unit Shifter" (Live in Munich, Germany) 
28. "My Best Friend's Girl" (Live in Munich, Germany) 
29. "Drain You" (Live in Munich, Germany)

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA