Nick Drake's 'Five Leaves Left' Due for Vinyl Box Set Reissue

Late singer-songwriter's 1969 debut receives same treatment as latter two LPs

nick drake, five leaves left, reissue
The cover to Nick Drake's 'Five Leaves Left'
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Nick Drake's final two studio albums — 1970's Bryter Layter and 1972's Pink Moon — have each been reissued as deluxe vinyl box sets recently, and soon the folk legend's 1969 debut, Five Leaves Left, will follow suit.

As Exclaim points out, Island Records will re-release Drake's first LP on July 2. The remastered full-length will be pressed on heavyweight vinyl and come with a reproduction of the album's original packaging, as well as several bonus items, including handwritten lyrics, a poster, and an MP3 download of the record. All of this will reportedly be housed in a clamshell box. Right now it looks like the upcoming reissue won't feature any bonus tracks — just the same 10 classic songs fans have been delving into for more than 40 years. 

Listen to Five Leaves Left in its lavish entirety below.


Five Leaves Left track list:

1. "Time Has Told Me"
2. "River Man" 
3. "Three Hours" 
4. "Way to Blue" 
5. "Day Is Done" 
6. "Cello Song" 
7. "The Thoughts of Mary Jane" 
8. "Man in a Shed" 
9. "Fruit Tree" 
10. "Saturday Sun" 

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA