Stream NHK'Koyxen's Hypnotic '762'

A dose of functional avant-garde house from the Japanese producer's just released LP on PAN

NHK'Koyxen, Kouhei Matsunaga, dance classics
Elissa Stolman

On December 15, Bill Kouligas will conclude an impressive year for his experimental label, PAN, by unleashing two LPs: one from Athens producer Jar Moff, and one from Japanese beatmaker NHK'Koyxen (a.k.a. Kouhei Matsunaga). The third installment of Matsunaga's Dance Classics series features six tracks that range from gloppy, drum-free mechanics to off-kilter yet sparkling hip-hop rhythms and gummy techno tools. "762" definitely belongs to the latter category, with frigid synth shards sputtering over a thundering, blunted kick on this simple, hypnotic, and wonderfully visceral dance-floor workout.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 2 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 3 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31
  • 4 Mystery Skulls — Paralyzed (Single Version) " 02:34
  • 5 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 6 Kevin Morby — We Did It All Wrong " 04:47
  • 7 Kiesza — Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix) " 05:50

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA