New Wedding Present LP Out May 20

The Wedding Present / Photo by Richard Maiden
William Goodman

No matter if you're altar bound or not, frontman David Gedge's the Wedding Present will return to the LP game May 20 with the release of El Rey, the band's eighth studio album to date and follow up to 2005's Take Fountain, set to arrive stateside courtesy of Manifesto. The fresh eleven-track set, produced by seasoned knob twiddler Steve Albini, also the man behind the Wedding Present's 1991 set Seamonsters, will feature tunes with California-centric titles such as "Santa Ana Winds," "Spider Man on Hollywood," and "Palisades," all possibly telling of Gedge's Golden State residency.

Though details have yet-to-be revealed, the album's release will be followed by an extensive U.S. tour.

El Rey tracklisting:

1. "Santa Ana Winds"
2. "Spider-man on Hollywood"
3. "I Lost the Monkey"
4. "Soup"?
5. "Palisades"
6. "The Trouble with Men"?
7. "Model, Actress, Whatever..."?
8. "Don't Take Me Home Until I'm Drunk"?
9. "The Thing I Like Best About Him Is His Girlfriend"
10. "Boo Boo"
11. "Swingers"?

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA