New Stream: Death Cab for Cutie, "I Will Possess Your Heart"

Deathcab for Cutie / Photo by Autumn de Wilde
William Goodman

A few months back, when guitarist/producer Chris Walla stated Death Cab for Cutie's forthcoming follow up to 2005's Plans would be "really weird" and sound"way more lunar" than the band's usual "urban meadow sort of thing," a few fans may have been slightly perplexed. But with "I Will Possess Your Heart," the first single off Narrow Stairs, the Seattle-based quartet's eighth studio LP out May 13 via Atlantic, Walla's words are finally making sense.

An eight minute-plus epic, "I Will Posses Your Heart" relies on a steady, chunky bass line as a mixture of ethereal, amorphous piano rattles and woozy guitars fire in the background. Some four minutes into the song, Gibbard's squawk finally enters: "You gotta spend some time, love / You gotta spend some time with me / I know that you will find love / I will possess your heart." Lyrically familiar? Most definitely. But sonically, that's another story.

It's possessing our hearts so far. How about yours? Check the streams and post a comment.

Now Hear This: Death Cab for Cutie, "I Will Possess Your Heart"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 OOFJ — I Forgive You " 03:52
  • 2 MyMidnightHeart — D R O W N " 04:59
  • 3 In Tall Buildings — Bawl Cry Wail " 04:08
  • 4 Slutever — Smother " 01:55
  • 5 Lithuania — Pieces " 03:40
  • 6 Kuroma — Love Is on the Way " 03:29
  • 7 Big Sean — Blessings " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA