New Pornographers to Release Fifth Album

The New Pornographers
Peter Gaston

Canadian pop collective New Pornographers will return with their fifth studio album, titled Together, on May 4, according to a post on the band's website.

The album -- their first since 2007's Challengers -- was finished on New Year's Eve (according to singer-guitarist Carl Newman's very entertaining Twitter), and was recorded in four different locations: Brooklyn, Vancouver, Woodstock, NY, and Catskill, NY. It's got 12 songs, with nine penned by Newman and three by Dan Bejar (aka Destroyer).

The current NP lineup includes Newman, Bejar, John Collins, Neko Case, Kurt Dahle, Kathryn Calder, Todd Fancey, and Blaine Thurier, and Together features guest appearances by Annie Clark (aka St. Vincent), Beirut's Zach Condon, Okkervil River's Will Sheff, and the Dap-Kings Horns.

No New Pornographers tour dates have been announced yet, but Newman will perform on January 27 at a Brooklyn benefit for Haitian earthquake victims -- he'll be playing the songs of Australian '60s pop band the Seekers with Nicole Atkins and Rhett Miller of the Old 97s. Ted Leo, the Walkmen, fun., the Wrens, Sondre Lerche, Michael Showalter, and many more are also on board for the benefit, and Jimmy Fallon will host. Tickets are still available here.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA