New I'm From Barcelona Album Due Oct. 14

I'm from Barcelona / Photo by Lucy Hamblin
Larry Fitzmaurice

After the friendly handshake that was I'm From Barcelona's aptly titled 2006 debut Let Me Introduce My Friends, the sprawling Swedish pop collective are concerning themselves with slightly darker subject matters on LP two: namely, death and mystery. Indeed, the group's follow up, entitled Who Killed Harry Houdini? is set to hit stores Oct. 14 via Mute, with its first single, "Paper Planes," arriving to airwaves Aug. 19 (check back in with over the next couple of days for a stream of the tune).

And the album's title references more than bandleader Emanuel Lundgren's interest with the legendary illusionist. It also recalls his own penchant for magic, and a failed attempt at pursuing it as a career. One thing's for sure though: It won't be easy for a band like I'm From Barcelona, who are comprised of more than 20 members, to pull off a decent vanishing act.

Who Killed Harry Houdini? tracklisting:

1. "Andy"
2. "Paper Planes"
3. "Headphones"
4. "Music Killed Me"
5. "Gunhild" (ft. Soko)
6. "Mingus"
7. "Ophelia"
8. "Houdini"
9. "Little Ghost"
10. "Rufus"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Santiparro — The Benefit of Confrontation " 04:49
  • 2 Soda Fabric — Teenage Illusion " 04:03
  • 3 Walter Lukens — Every Night " 02:55
  • 4 Sarah Bethe Nelson — Paying " 05:47
  • 5 Faith Healer — Again " 02:57
  • 6 Death Cab for Cutie — Black Sun " 04:49

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA