New Coldplay Album Set for Oct. 25

Peter Gaston

After headlining Lollapalooza last weekend, British hitmakers Coldplay have announced a release date and title for their fifth studio album: Mylo Xyloto will arrive October 25.

While there's no word as to what the title actually means, graffiti has a major conceptual influence here -- the cover features a collage of various street art -- and it's something they've mentioned in interviews (and espoused in the video for lead single "Every Teardrop Is a Waterfall"). Additionally, a special limited edition of the album will include a graffiti-style pop-up book designed by David A. Carter.

No tracklisting was revealed, but the band's been playing a handful of new material in live shows this summer, like "Charlie Brown," which they performed on Jimmy Kimmel, "Us Against the World," "Hurts Like Heaven," and "Major Minus," which they rolled out in Germany, and the aforementioned "Waterfall" -- watch their Lollapalooza version of that song below.

Watch: Coldplay, "Every Teardrop Is a Waterfall" (Live at Lollapalooza)

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Paperwhite — Pieces " 03:58
  • 2 Michael Rault — Nothing Means Nothing " 02:56
  • 3 Gold Beach — Impressions " 04:32
  • 4 GENUFLEX — The Last Gods (Mark Stewart And Rambone Remix) " 05:13
  • 5 Sleigh Bells — That Did It Feat. Tink " 02:41
  • 6 Monster Rally & Jay Stone — Recollection " 02:10
  • 7 Little Boots — Pretty Tough " 03:18

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA