Neneh Cherry Shares Dance-Floor Brooders 'Everything' and 'Weightless'

Plus, a Villalobos and Loderbauer remix, and live session footage for 'Blank Project' LP

Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Swedish trip-hop O.G. Neneh Cherry releases her first solo album in 16 years on February 26. Coming via the estimable Smalltown Supersound label and featuring Four Tet on production, Blank Project now delivers a handful of worthy goodies to the patient listener. Above you'll find a performance of the surging and soulful "Weightless," recorded with a backing band for PRI's Studio 360 — that's a brand new share from the new LP, and likewise for "Everything." The studio version of that sparse, seven-minute, dark dance jam can be heard below. "Good things come to those who wait," Cherry sings, and makes good on that promise by also delivering an extended funky house remix double-teamed by Ricardo Villalobos and Max Loderbauer.

Last but hardly least, we have a Studio 360 video of Cherry doing titular track "Blank Project," a percussive gem about about intensely conflicting emotions within a marital relationship. All of that can be found below. Meanwhile, check out the rest of SPIN's 50 Albums You Gotta Hear in 2014, and check out this song by Cherry's daughter.

"Everything," by Neneh Cherry:

"Everything (Vilod high blood pressure mix)" with Villalobos & Loderbauer:

"Weightless" live for Studio 360:


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 3 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 4 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 5 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 6 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 7 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA