Neko Case Reveals New Album's Very Long Title With Very Short Trailer

'The Worse Things Get, The Harder I Fight. The Harder I Fight, The More I Love You' coming via ANTI-

Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Neko Case's follow-up to 2009's Middle Cyclone is officially on the way. The alt-country all-star released the trailer for her upcoming sixth studio album on Thursday night. The title is a mouthful. Case's next full-length is called The Worse Things Get, the Harder I Fight, the Harder I Fight, the More I Love You. (Cue Fiona Apple joke.)

According to a June 6 tweet from the singer-songwriter — "HEY, LOOK!!! IT'S FINALLY DONE!!" — work on the LP seems to be finished. Right now, there's not much else in the way of hard details. We know the record's going to be issued via ANTI- Records, but an official date and track listing haven't yet been released. 

The album's teaser does feature a snippet of a new song, though. Throughout the clip, Case repeatedly sings, "Where did I leave that fire?" In a recent interview with NPR, the sometime New Pornographer confirmed that as the title of a fresh track. "To me it felt — this is going to sound very flaky — but it didn't feel of this world," she said, referencing the tune. She continued, describing "Where Did I Leave That Fire" as an "ambient thought process" that features submarine sound effects. Dive into the sample above.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA