Neil Young Plans 'Low-Tech' March Album, Denies Jack White 'Duets'

But new LP 'A Letter Home' somehow involves Third Man Records

neil young, jack white, a letter home, new album
Neil Young holds a piece of technology Photo by Getty Images
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Neil Young will deliver his next album this March. The 68-year-old guitar god confirmed the tentative release date to Rolling Stone recently and said the upcoming record will be called A Letter Home. Young didn't go into much further detail about the project, but he did say that it's "one of the lowest-tech experiences I've ever had."

Right now, it looks as though A Letter Home will arrive via Jack White's Third Man Records. The label's website has a page devoted to the release that contains the following message: "An unheard collection of rediscovered songs from the past recorded on ancient electro-mechanical technology captures and unleashes the essence of something that could have been gone forever."

What remains unclear is whether A Letter Home is the covers album that Young and White supposedly recorded together. Earlier this month, music journalist Michael Goldberg reported that the two visionaries made a full-length together; that news came a few weeks after Young fansite Thrashers Wheat cited an unnamed source as saying Young made his next record in White's recording booth. That refurbished 1947 Voice-o-Graph machine could certainly be responsible for "one of the lowest-tech experiences" of Young's career, and it could fairly be billed as "ancient electro-mechanical technology," too.

That said, a recent post on Young's Facebook denies the "false rumors" of a full-length collaboration of "duets" between Young and White. "Neil Young and Jack White are not doing a record of duets as has been erroneously posted on various outlets," the statement reads. "We are certain those rumors have no basis in truth."

Of course, the dismissal could be a simple case of intentional misdirection — especially considering Goldberg's report never said anything about "duets." A rep for Warner Bros. Records previously declined to comment on the matter, but we're sure to find out in a couple of months.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 3 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 4 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 5 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 6 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 7 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA