Labor Party: Missy Elliott's First Songs in Four Years Due This Weekend

New Missy songs "9th Inning" and "Triple Threat" are on the way, according to Timbaland

Missy Elliott / Photo by Getty Images
Missy Elliott / Photo by Getty Images
Marc Hogan

If hard work pays off, Missy Elliott couldn't have picked a better time to return with new music. As NME points out, the rapper's longtime producer, Timbaland, said via Twitter: "oh snapp yall my sista @MissyElliott is droppin her singles #9thinning and #triplethreat labor day weekend. watch it world we backk!!!" The hugely influential rapper hasn't released a single under her own name since 2008, or an album since 2005's The Cookbook, though officially unreleased tracks have popped up now and then.

Missy and Timbaland performed "9th Inning" and "Triple Threat" in New York City earlier this year; watch fan footage of the performances below. Both tracks are presumably set for Missy's long-postponed Block Party LP, previously due in June. Missy also recently appeared on two remixes of M.I.A.'s "Bad Girls," and she's reportedly joining Timbaland for a forthcoming album of posthumous Aaliyah music, including Drake's contentious "Enough Said." Labor? More, we hope, like delivery.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA