Metallica Leak 'Guitar Hero' Release Date

Larry Fitzmaurice

Attention gamers and metalheads: Rock and Roll Hall of Famers Metallica have unveiled details for their new Guitar Hero video game series!

According to a post on Metallica's MySpace blog titled "Guitar Hero...Worst Kept Secret, Part II," Guitar Hero Metallica will arrive March 29 for XBOX 360 and Playstation 3, with versions for Nintendo Wii and Playstation 2 set to drop in early May.

The post also confirms a few rumors about the game: Guitar Hero Metallica will feature a new "Expert+" difficulty mode that offers players two bass drum pedals for their drum console, as well as 28 Metallica songs, and tunes by Metallica-approved artists like Alice in Chains, the Foo Fighters, and Slayer.

Watch the official trailer for Guitar Hero Metallica below. And be sure to check back to for more on the new game!

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Django Django — First Light " 04:49
  • 2 Happy Fangs — In the Morning " 03:08
  • 3 Santiparro — The Benefit of Confrontation " 04:49
  • 4 Soda Fabric — Teenage Illusion " 04:03
  • 5 Walter Lukens — Every Night " 02:55
  • 6 Sarah Bethe Nelson — Paying " 05:47
  • 7 Faith Healer — Again " 02:57

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA