Metallica Finally Available via iTunes

SPIN Staff

Metallica, who once testified against Napster on Capitol Hill and refused to make their songs available for download for fear jeopardizing the livelihood of the album format, have finally caved, making their entire catalogue available for download via iTunes. "Over the last year or so, we have seen an ever-growing number of Metallica fans using online sites like iTunes to get their music," the band wrote in an online post titled "From the 'It's about fucking time!' file, comes this..." As of yesterday, the band's oeuvre, as well as unreleased live tracks, became available for purchase. The unreleased tracks will be tacked on to each of the first four albums (Kill 'Em All, Ride the Lightning, Master of Puppets, and ...And Justice for All).

Talk: Shouldn't the band have called their post "From the 'If you can't beat 'em, join 'em' file" instead? COMMENT

On the Web:

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA