Meet Bosco Delrey, Diplo's New Rock'n'Roll Whiz

Bosco Delrey
Peter Gaston

Diplo and the crew of artists on his Mad Decent imprint may be purveyors of cutting edge dance and hip-hop, but the label is bucking that trend with some retro-minded rock'n'roll, courtesy of new signing Bosco Delrey. Download the lead track from his debut Everybody Wah.

Bosco Delrey, "Baby's Got a Blue Flame" (DOWNLOAD)

On "Baby's Got a Blue Flame," Delrey, who was born in New Jersey but raised in Memphis, TN, lays out a jittery rockabilly groove with an Elvis Presley-ish sneer - but he updates his classic rock'n'roll with drum machines and cascading synth melodies.

Still, Everybody Wah maintains its authentic rock vibe. Delrey cut the album in Memphis with producer Doug Easley (Cat Power, Townes Van Zandt), whose recording studio is stacked with analog recording equipment and vintage gear.

Everybody Wah is out now exclusively via iTunes, and at all digital retailers next week.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 2 Kiesza — Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix) " 05:50
  • 3 Bellows — Funny Things " 03:17
  • 4 Living Days — Thrill Anybody (MNDR Remix) " 04:07
  • 5 Whirr — Heavy " 04:15
  • 6 Chance the Rapper & The Social Experiment — Wonderful Everyday: Arthur " 03:33
  • 7 Tweedy — Low Key " 03:15

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA