Mastodon Drop Unreleased Song, Video!

A still from 'Deathbound'
William Goodman

If you dosed Mr. Rogers, The Muppets, and the characters of Fraggle Rock with bad acid and handed them loaded handguns and canons, the ensuing mayhem would look something like Mastodon's hilariously twisted new video for their previously unreleased track "Deathbound."

Recorded during sessions for the Georgia metal band's 2009 album Crack the Skye, the previoulsy unreleased song is part of the Adult Swim Singles Program. The adult-oriented Cartoon Network also got behind the band's accompanying video clip, a farce based on the children's TV programs America was raised on.

Mr. Rogers is played by drummer Brann Dailor, who explains in his best G-rated voice that a solar eclipse is making "people do what they normally wouldn't do." Cut to Magic Land, aka the "Land of Make-Believe," and we see just what this includes: fluffy puppets shooting, cutting, and beating each other to a oblivion, as the earth shakes under the brutal and thundering sound of Mastodon's "Deathbound."

Now if this show could just get green lit for regular programming...

Listen to "Deathbound" below and watch the video here!

There's more good news for Mastodon fans, too: The metal warlords are currently in the studio with producer Mike Elizondo (Fiona Apple, Eminem) wrapping up their fifth studio album, The Hunter, which is expected to drop later this year. Song titles include "Blasteroids," "Stargasm," and "Dry Bone Valley." Frontman Brent Hinds is also working on new material with his side-projects Fiend Without a Face and West End Motel. Read more here.

Mastodon, "Deathbound"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA