Hear Marc E. Bassy's Addictive, Bouncy Hooks on 'Cigarettes'

"Only The Poet" EP from Bay Area rapper set to drop July 29

Marc E. Bassy
Marc E. Bassy
Theo Salem-Mackall

Bay Area MC Mark E. Bassy began his career performing with peppy electro-rappers 2AM Club and writing hits like "Beat It" for Wiz Khalifa. Recently his focus has shifted to his own solo work, with his debut, self-released EP Only The Poet arriving July 29. On the release's lead single "Cigarettes", the singer and rapper offers melodic verses about careerist goals and his own cancerous addiction in addition to an indelible falsetto hook. His bouncy flow channels the manic energy of Chance The Rapper; the animated style and tempered synths of "Cigarettes" could comfortably fit as a b-side to Acid Rap. Listen to "Cigarettes" below and peep the tracklist for Only The Poet as well.


1. Only the Poets
2. Catch Myself
3. Cigarettes
4. Over the Water ft. NHT Chippas
5. Girls Get Down
6. Chemical High
7. Playa Playa
8. Stick to Your Guns
9. American Dreamlife

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Jessie Ware — Share It All " 04:18
  • 2 Rustie — Attak (feat. Danny Brown) " 03:01
  • 3 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 4 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 5 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA