Maps Flies 'Sky' High with Debut

SPIN Staff

Charting a career for himself under the name Maps, U.K. native James Chapman works in an unorthodox way for someone churning out layered soundscapes and ambient space-rock: he doesn't use computers. Shunning top-of-the-line technology for the 16-track recorder in his Northampton bedroom, Chapman meticulously splices sounds together to achieve the desired depth. The lush "To the Sky" manages to be both mellow and sweeping as the sweet vocals, electro buzzing, and rhythmic drumming organically converge. Maps' debut, We Can Create, arrives June 19 via Mute. BRIANA MOWREY

Now Hear This:

On the Web:
Maps at MySpace

Talk: Is Maps headed in a good direction, or has he lost his way?

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA