Stream Two 'New' Mad Season Tracks Sung By Screaming Trees' Mark Lanegan

"Black Book of Fear" and "Slip Away" both appear on 'Above' reissue

mad season, above
The cover to Mad Season's 'Above'
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Esteemed grunge supergroup Mad Season reissued its sole studio album, 1995's Above, as an expansive three-disc box set yesterday (April 2), meaning fans can finally hear the three songs originally intended for Disinformation, the second Mad Season LP that never materialized.

"Locomotive," "Black Book of Fear," and "Slip Away" all feature vocals and lyrics by Screaming Trees frontman Mark Lanegan, who filled in for Mad Season's original lead singer, late Alice in Chains frontman Layne Staley. Rolling Stone debuted "Locomotive" in all its wah-wah guitar glory last month, and now soulful, blues-inflected tracks "Black Book of Fear" and "Slip Away" can both be streamed down below.

In addition to these three recently uncovered cuts, the Above reissue collects the original 10-song LP laid down by Staley, Pearl Jam lead guitarist Mike McCready, Screaming Trees drummer Barrett Martin, and late Walkabouts bassist John "Baker" Saunders; a cover of John Lennon's "I Don't Wanna Be a Soldier"; a previously unreleased "Interlude" track; a bonus disc capturing audio of the foursome's final live performance, recorded at Seattle's Moore Theatre in April '95; and a DVD stuffed with loads of concert footage, including the entire gig at the Moore.

Vinyl purists should look out for a double-LP, 12-inch version of the Above re-release, set to hit shelves on April 20 as part of Record Store Day 2013.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 2 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 3 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 4 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 5 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 6 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 7 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA