Mac DeMarco Previews 'Salad Days' Album With Intimate Session

Hear the title track, "Treat Her Better," "Let Her Go," and more

mac demarco, salad days, new album, 2014
Mac DeMarco Photo by Wilson Lee
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Turns out Mac DeMarco was indeed goofing on us when he claimed (via super-NSFW video) that his next album is called Eddie's Dream. As Chart Attack points out, the slop-pop auteur said in a recent interview with Canadian radio station CKUA that his 2 follow-up is actually called Salad Days and it's "out in April, but I'm not supposed to say that."

DeMarco also offered a sneak peek at the upcoming LP by performing three new songs during acoustic on-air live session. Stream the performance below, and skip to the 4:18 mark to hear the tender warning "Treat Her Better," move on to 8:38 for the vocal contortions of "Salad Days," and forward to 11:30 for "Let Her Go," an emotionally mature antidote to the "Give me pussy" mission statement DeMarco (hopefully) shared as a joke last week.

The 23-year-old tunesmith also performed a few fresh tracks during an acoustic gig in Brooklyn on January 10. We All Want Someone caught some footage of the concert, so scroll down to see renditions of "Treat Her Better," as well as two other not-yet-released songs, the latter of which is titled "Go Easy."




00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 2 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 3 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 4 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 5 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 6 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 7 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA