Stream Luxury Liners' Sun-Soaked 'They're Flowers' LP

Carter Tanton's latest in full, a week before it arrives on Western Vinyl

Luxury Liners / Photo by Shawn Brackbill
Luxury Liners / Photo by Shawn Brackbill
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

When Carter Tanton, ex-Lower Dens member and current Luxury Liners captain, first began writing songs for They're Flowers (arriving April 2 via Western Vinyl), the Baltimore tunesman relied on a nylon string guitar he found in a basement. "I actually thought the record was going to come out like Nick Drake judging from the original arrangements," Tanton said, "but I had to bend them to fit the laptop while on tour." Which brings us to Luxury Liners' '80s-indebted opus, a collection of nine tracks that resembles a traditional singer-songwriter LP on paper — cue the drastically reimagined John Cale cover, the song title referencing Alex Chilton, and world-weary, pensive lyrics — but hews closer to sunlit, post-Tumblr bedroom-pop projects in practice. Hear the entire thing down below.

  • Luxury Liners — Caribbean Sunset
  • Luxury Liners — Memphis Alex
  • Luxury Liners — Valley High
  • Luxury Liners — Sit & See
  • Luxury Liners — Lash by Lash
  • Luxury Liners — Life's A Beach (feat. NIGHTLANDS)
  • Luxury Liners — Dog Days / Afternoons
  • Luxury Liners — Clear or Brown
  • Luxury Liners — Broad Daylight

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 2 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46
  • 3 The Drums — Magic Mountain " 04:05
  • 4 Jessie Ware — Kind Of...Sometimes...Maybe " 03:46
  • 5 Flying Lotus — Coronus, the Terminator " 02:40
  • 6 JEFF The Brotherhood — Gouge Away " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA