Hear Low Leaf's Soaring Folktronic Soul Song 'Set Me Free'

Los Angeles singer/producer/player drops 'AKASHAALAY' LP April 29

Low Leaf 'Set Me Free' Stream AKASHAALAY
Low Leaf plays the harp ... and just about everything else Photo by Dana Washington
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Low Leaf hails from the same city that's gifted us astrally minded folk and beat explorers like Flying Lotus, Thundercat, and Mia Doi Todd, and she pretty much possesses the skill-set of all three. The Los Angeles artist excels at harp, is adept at guitar, has a knack for production, knows classical piano, and sings with a wholly transfixing energy. But don't take our word for it. Just hit play on "Set Me Free" below, and hear that stuttering, soulful, and singular song do its thing. Despite the title, Low Leaf doesn't seem the least bit inhibited, and even brings in the rare collaborator or two — Snorlax on bass, Matthew Baker on drums — to experience the escape as it's happening. "Set Me Free" hails from AKASHAALAY, her fifth album, out April 29 on Fresh Selects. Pre-order digital or cassette here.

Low Leaf's handwritten lyrics for "Set Me Free":

Low Leaf 'Set Me Free' Stream Lyrics

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA