Love Is All

Love Is All
Nick Stefanovich

What? Following up their critically acclaimed 2006 debut Nine Times That Same Song, Gothenburg, Sweden's indie-pop group Love Is All have recorded another superb record, A Hundred Things Keep Me Up At Night, out November 11. With a name like Love Is All you may expect the group to write about the trials and tribulations of romance -- if so, you'd be right. But setting themselves apart from other lovelorn bands is Love Is All's irresistible way of making heartbreak sound like a good time. Their sonically upbeat melancholy is evident from the bouncing verses of "Wishing Well," which has singer Josephine Olausson joyfully lamenting the hopes of improving a relationship, to the lovely he said, she said duet with guitarist Nicholaus Sparding on "A More Uncertain Future."

Who? After the breakup of indie-pop group Girlfriendo, Josephine Olausson (keyboards/vocals), Nicholaus Sparding (guitar/vocals), and Markus Görsch (drums) decided to keep making infectious indie-pop together, tapping Fredrik Eriksson (saxophone) and Johan Lindwall (bass) -- who had recorded with Olausson and Sparding in side-project Cat Skills -- to form Love Is All. Their first release, Nine Times That Same Song, is 31-minute collection of sassy punk praised by critics that picked up steam after NME picked the song "Make Out Fall Out Make Up" as a single of the week. Soon the band was featured on John Peel's BBC Peel Sessions, kicked off a U.S. tour, and later opened a high-profile outing for Maxïmo Park. After touring extensively in 2006-07, Eriksson left the band and has since been replaced by Ake Stromer (saxophone, keyboards).

Fun Fact: To hold fans over until the new album's release, Love Is All dropped Love Is All Mixed Up, a remix collection of songs from the band's debut that featured renditions by artists like Hot Chip and the Bees.

Listen: Love Is All, "Wishing Well"(DOWNLOAD MP3)


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Fantasmes — Bare Bones " 04:58
  • 2 The Black Angels — An Occurrence at 4507 South Third Street " 03:20
  • 3 J Dilla — Give Em What They Want " 02:45
  • 4 Low Leaf — Set Me Free " 02:13
  • 5 Doe Paoro — Nobody " 03:05
  • 6 Chromeo with Ezra Koenig — Ezra's Interlude " 01:55
  • 7 Soundgarden — Black Hole Sun (Demo) " 05:54

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA