LISTEN: Wavves Drop Album Early to Combat Leak

Patrck Darcy

SoCal indie trio Wavves have replaced their signature brand of lo-fi bedroom noise with a '90s skater-punk-inspired sound on their stellar new album King of the Beach -- and it's totally gnarly! Hear the full album stream below.

"It was Billie Joe Armstrong and pals who definitively balled up the snottiness and poppiness that [frontman Nathan] Williams so thoroughly nails throughout his third album," says Spencer Kornhaber in his four-star review of King of the Beach, "which tones down but not wholly abandons the lo-fi orneriness of 2009's breakout Wavvves."

The 12-track album, recorded at Sweet Tea Studio in Mississippi with producer Dennis Herring (Modest Mouse, Counting Crows), was originally slated for digital and physical release on August 3.But as is so often the case these days, it leaked, so King of the Beach was made available for digital purchase this week, with a physical album following in stores on August 3.

You can head on over to Fat Possum and stream the entire album now.Let us know what you think in the comment section!

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA