LISTEN: New Steven Tyler Solo Track Leaks

Steven Tyler / Photo Courtesy zpinkster
Kevin O'Donnell

Last week, SPIN reported that Steven Tyler had cooked up a solo song for the Japanese sci-fi movie Space Battleship Yamato. "Love Lives" won't get an official release until November, but a Japanese radio station premiered the song today. Check it out below.

Like Aerosmith's "I Don't Want to Miss a Thing," the band's 1997 contribution to theArmageddon soundtrack, "Love Lives" is a bombastic four-minute ballad with pianos, swelling orchestral lines,and Tyler's tradmark tar-stained howl. "Love is what love makes," he sings. "If you let it go it'll always come back."

As SPIN previously reported, Tyler is gearing up to be a new judge on American Idol and he's also reportedly working on a solo album. But bassist Tom Hamilton says Aerosmith aren't breaking up. "Steven's been very emphatic in saying that the way his time is arranged on the show leaves room to work on a record," Hamilton told the Boston Herald last week. "He's been taking great pains to remind everybody of that, so hopefully that's the way it will come out."

What do you think of the Tyler's solo track? Hit us in the comments section.

LISTEN: Steven Tyler, "Love Lives"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA