LISTEN: Julian Casablancas' Synthy New Song

Jenn Pelly

Strokes frontman Julian Casablancas has leaked "11th Dimension," the first full recording to be released from his solo album Phrazes for the Young, out Oct. 20. The track -- which you can hear below, or at his MySpace page -- is four minutes of unadulterated dancefloor pop that sound nothing the Strokes have ever committed to tape.

To be clear, that's not a bad thing at all. In fact, it's quite possibly the catchiest song any Stroke has ever recorded.

Debuted live on August 31 in Tokyo, where Casablancas unveiled the album with a six-piece band, the track's jagged mosaic of electronic beats and bright synthesizer bursts fall somewhere between the bubblegum radio pop of '80s radio queens like Stacey Q and latter day New Order.

And while the chorus' paeans are a bit Strokes-y, content wise, in their laments of urban nights gone awry -- "Forgive them even if they are not sorry / All the vultures who left us at the door waiting" -- the song's imbued with an undeniable and quite lovable air of optimism.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA