LISTEN: Gorillaz Entire New Album!

Michael Sheffield

Plastic Beach, the third album from electronic genre-benders Gorillaz, is under wraps no more. Hear it in its entirety here, a week prior to the its March 9 release date, courtesy of NPR!

For the newest Gorillaz album, head monkey Damon Albarn recruited a dream team of hip-hop, soul, and post-punk royalty including Snoop Dogg, Lou Reed, Mos Def, the Bee Gees' Barry Gibb, the Fall's Mark E. Smith, Bobby Womack and the Clash's Mick Jones and Paul Simonon.

While Albarn holds down the musical side, the characters designed by comic artist Jamie Hewlett have been extra busy, too, in promoting the album. Last week, the characters appeared in an interactive online video game on the official Gorillaz site. Animated Gorillaz member Murdoc Niccals landed on SPIN's weekly Twitter Trio column, thanks to his cynical, self-referential tweets.

Gorillaz are one of the headliners for this year's Coachella festival in Indio, California, topping the event's April 18 bill, which also features Spoon, Pavement, Thom Yorke, and dozens more.

LISTEN: Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA