LISTEN: First New Florence + the Machine Song

Florence Welch in 'What The Water Gave Me'
William Goodman

Flame-haired Brit singer Florence Welch and her band the Machine, one of SPIN's 2010 Artists of the Year, have unveiled the first song from their November LP, the follow-up to their smash debut Lungs. Listen to "What the Water Gave Me" below.

The five-and-a-half-minute track is a surge of gospel-tinged pop with harp, piano, and throbbing bass driving under Welch's powerful vocals: "Lay me down / Let the only sound be the overflow / Pockets full of stones / That's what the water gave us!"

It was recorded at the legendary Abbey Road Studios in London with producer Paul Epworth (Adele, Bloc Party), who helmed "Cosmic Love" and "Blinding" from Lungs. The new album also features "Strangeness and Charm," which you can hear a live recording of below.

Florence and the Machine, "What The Water Gave Me"


"Strangeness and Charm"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA