LISTEN: Broken Bells' Complete New Release

Broken Bells
Michael Sheffield

Shins frontman James Mercer and Gnarls Barkley mastermind Danger Mouse will release their self-titled debut album as Broken Bells on March 9. But why wait to hear the tunes? The album is available right now via NPR.

The duo will promote Broken Bells with a series of U.S. concerts early this month, including stops in Brooklyn, Los Angeles, and Austin, TX, for SXSW. A complete tour itinerary is available on the group's MySpace page.

The duo recently played their first concert at an intimate L.A. showcase. "[They] delivered a glistening set of ambient pop capped by Mercer's pristine tenor,"'s Kevin Bronson wrote of the concert. "In brief flashes, the material off Broken Bells' forthcoming debut is reminiscent -- emotionally, anyway -- of another indie songwriter/beatmaker collaboration, the Postal Service. But what Ben Gibbard and Jimmy Tamborello were to your bedroom, Burton and Mercer are to the heavens."

Read the complete concert review here.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 3 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 4 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 5 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 6 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 7 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA