Listen to 4AD Signee SpaceGhostPurrp's Woozy 'No Evidence'

Listen to 4AD Signee SpaceGhostPurrp's Woozy 'No Evidence'
SpaceGhostPurrp / Photo by Tim Saccenti
Marc Hogan

Although 4AD isn't especially known for hip-hop, the venerable label's recent signing of woozy Miami rapper/producer SpaceGhostPurrp is almost too on the nose. After all, the once-unlikely intersection between shoegaze druggy atmosphere and hip-hop druggy atmosphere has attracted increasing attention the past few years — as critic Ian Cohen was probably first to point out on Twitter, Midwest nightmare-pop misfits SALEM have been doing this for years now. And SpaceGhostPurrp's vowel-averse mixtapes have been just as much about the type of foggy gloom that has long been a mainstay of the 4AD sound — or, to an extent, that of Southern rappers like Three 6 Mafia — as they are about this A$AP Rocky associate's sneering, free-associative rhymes. "No Evidence," presented here as a three-minute edit of a track that will appear on Purrp's June 12 commercial debut Chronicles of SpaceGhostPurrp via 4AD, brings his whispery, unsettlingly relaxed rhymes up a bit out of their former murk, though the production is as ethereal as is Purrp and 4AD's signature. This one is dank in every sense of the word. (Though Purrp would probably spell it "DNK.")

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA