Linkin Park: New Album Is "Conceptual"

Linkin Park
Larry Fitzmaurice

Genre-fusing rockers Linkin Park are notorious for taking their time recording albums -- the group labored three years on their sophomore record, Meteora, and four years on 2007's Minutes to Midnight. But now the six-piece is already working on Midnight's yet-to-be-titled follow-up, which co-frontman Chester Bennington describes as "a concept record."

Speaking to, Bennington remained mum on what that "concept" might entail ("I'm not sure I'm allowed to say what the big plan is," he said), but hinted that the record would signal a new direction for Linkin Park. "[We] never envisioned ourselves doing a concept record, but we see an opportunity to do something really cool so we jumped on it, and we'll see how it comes out. I think it's a challenge and we'll see if we can rise to the occasion."

In addition, Bennington has been finishing up work on his debut solo album, which he plans to release in spring or summer of 2009. "[It's] a lot more straightforward rock, with a little bit of an electronic element to it, lots of keys and synths and stuff like that," Bennington said. "And there are a few elements where I think you'll be able to see what my influence on (Linkin Park) is."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA