Kendrick Lamar Shares New 'Good Kid, M.A.A.D City' Snippets

Including the Drake-featuring "Poetic Justice" and the spaced-out "Bitch Don't Kill My Vibe"

Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Last week at a San Diego show, rising Los Angeles rap star Kendrick Lamar shared a couple of snippets from his feverishly anticipated major label debut, good kid, m.A.A.d. city, out October 22. The clips were captured by a fan and uploaded to YouTube — though brief, they reveal a bit more of the Dr. Dre protégé's impressive range, with "Bitch Don't Kill My Vibe" showcasing spacey future rap, and "Backseat Freestyle" a rawer example of dude's skill.

Update: The Hit-Boy-produced "Backseat Freestyle" can be heard in full below, via Nah Right.

A couple of other brief clips have surfaced of late as well: "Poetic Justice," which features Drake, and "Sing About Me/I'm Dying of Thirst." Stream the bits and pieces above and below, and revisit the full songs we've already reported on: "Compton" featuring Dr. Dre, "The Recipe" also featuring Dre, and "Swimming Pools (Drank)," which comes to us in video form. Read more about Lamar in the SPIN feature, "Not Your Average Everyday Rap Savior."


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA