Chandler Levack

What? The sun-spattered, psychedelic swathes of Brazilian tropicalia featured on Kassin+2's Futurismo (available now on David Byrne's Luaka Bop label) might be the ideal sound to hit it poolside with a cold cerveja this summer. With the final installment in the +2 trilogy, this trio creates an effervescent collage of samba, airy folk, and sheer mysticism; "Pra Lembrar" floats on soft keys and an accordion solo, while "Samba Machine" adds a baile funk to wayward synths and feverish electric guitar. John McEntire (Tortoise) and Sean O'Hagan (High Llamas) lend vocals to English (most sung in Portuguese) tracks "Lakeline" and "Bow Road," creating a clumsy sweetness and adding to the trio's groovy blend.

Who? Namesake band leader Alexandre Kassin plus, well, two -- Moreno Veloso and Domenico Lancellotti. The bespectacled Kassin moonlights as a producer, and also helms the Orchestra Imperial Project, a 19-member big band that reprises classic samba tunes.

Fun Fact: In 2005 another Kassin side-project, Artificial, released long player Free U.S.A., a series of booty-bouncing dance tracks created with the blips and bleeps of a Nintendo Game Boy. Thong optional.

Now Hear This: "Ya Ya Ya" (DOWNLOAD MP3)

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 DJ Center — 2AM inna London Dub " 05:10
  • 2 The Pains of Being Pure at Heart — Eurydice " 04:19
  • 3 Twin Shadow — To The Top " 03:20
  • 4 Fantasmes — Bare Bones " 04:58
  • 5 The Black Angels — An Occurrence at 4507 South Third Street " 03:20
  • 6 Soundgarden — Black Hole Sun (Demo) " 05:54
  • 7 J Dilla — Give Em What They Want " 02:45

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA