Kanye West Preps Noir 'Runaway' Movie

Kanye West
Kevin O'Donnell

At the VMAs on Sunday, Kanye West debuted the banging new song "Runaway" from his new album slated for November 16 and he also unveiled a trailer from a movie that will accompany the track. Turns out West's plans for the film are more epic than expected: last night, West announced that he's planning a 40-minute "noir piece" to accompany the album. "It's the story of a phoenix fallen to Earth, and I make her my girlfriend, and people discriminate against her and eventually she has to burn herself alive and go back to her world," West, who shot the movie in Prague recently, told New York magazine. Check out the teaser for the movie here.

West has ignited plenty of controversy in recent years — most notably when he rushed Taylor Swift during her acceptance speech at last year's VMAs — and he's tried to mend his bad behavior, which he says is a major theme on the new record. "I've been feeling the idea of the phoenix," he said. "It's been in my heart for a while. It's maybe parallel to my career. I threw a Molotov cocktail on my career last year, in a way, and I had to come back as a better person."

As Spin previously reported, Kanye West will release a new track each Friday leading up thenew album's release. He most recently dropped "Good Friday," which features guest spots from Common, Pusha T and Kid Cudi. Pick up 'Ye's new music here.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA