Kanye West and Pusha T Declare Dominance on 'New God Flow'

Kanye West and Pusha T Declare Dominance on 'New God Flow'
Marc Hogan

Kanye West stole the next morning's headlines at Sunday's BET Awards, going a cappella in a moment of breathtaking ambition that recalled Lil Wayne seizing the same venue to declare himself hip-hop ("and I ain't dead, I'm alive") five years earlier. Now the full track, which samples its hook from Ghostface Killah's Supreme Clientele cut "Mighty Healthy," has emerged, and it's similarly bristling: G.O.O.D. soldier Pusha T delivering a ferocious lesson on hip-hop history, from Puff tough-guy Shyne to Tupac at Coachella (by way of an inevitable-for-Pusha-eventually yay-'Ye pun); West getting tied up a bit in his latest proclamation of greatness with name-drops (LeBron James, Notorious B.I.G., Martin Luther King, Rodney King, Whitney Houston, Richard Pryor ... and EPMD half Erick Sermon!), but still finding room to touch on territory unusual for such likely Top 40 fare (crime problems in Chicago, "an uncle that touched you"). It's a stomping, instantly memorable track, if undercut slightly by its military-cadence outro about how many hoes West gets (via Nah Right).

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA