Kanye & Jay's LP Out August 1, Prince's Fest + More

Jay-Z & Kanye West / Prince (Photo: Getty Images, Jay-Z/Kanye; Brian Ach/WireImage for NPG Records 2011, Prince)
SPIN Staff

  • Jay-Z and Kanye West's collaborative album, Watch the Throne, now has an official release date. The set will drop digitally on August 1 and hit stores on August 5. Pre-orders are available at watchthethrone.com. Purported album credits have also hit the web, which reveal LMFAO and Seal as guest vocalists.

  • After wrapping his Welcome 2 America Tour, Prince is heading to Europe. The Purple One is headlining his own festival, dubbed the NPG Music and Art Festival, from August 6-7 in Copenhagen. Prince has tapped Chaka Khan, Nikka Costa, Raphael Saadiq, Janelle Monáe, and others to perform. Head to the fest's official site for ticket details.

  • Coldplay haven't announced the release date for their upcoming Fall album, but various European retailers are posting pre-orders that reveal the set will drop on October 24. Hear the group's first single, "Every Teardrop Is a Waterfall," here. The band plays live in London this Friday at the iTunes Festival, which streams live online. Details here.

  • Jens Lekman will release a new EP, titled An Argument With Myself, on September 20. It's the Swedish singer-songwriter's first release since 2007's acclaimed Night Falls Over Kortedala. Lekman will also perform a series of shows in the U.S. -- click here for dates.

  • Theophilus London's debut album Timez Are Weird These Days is available for streaming over at Spinner. The 11-track set features guest spots from TV on the Radio's Dave Sitek, Tegan and Sara's Sara Quin, and singer-songwriter Holly Miranda.

  • Michael Jackson's iconic "Thriller" jacket — the red leather piece that he wore in his classic music video — will go on an exhibition tour to raise money for children's charities. The item was purchased at auction last month for $1.8 million and its new owner, Texas commodities broker Milton Verret, hopes to line up corporate sponsors to fund it. [Billboard]

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA