Julian Casablancas Enters the Voidz With 11-Minute 'Human Sadness'

The Strokes frontman seems poised to get weird on his September 23 solo record

Julian Casablancas and the Voids Tyranny Human Sadness
Julian Casablancas at Governors Ball 2014 Photo by Krista Schlueter
Colin Joyce

Julian Casablancas is set to release Tyranny, his first record with his new band the Voidz, on September 23, but after months of teasing with snippets and live clips, he's finally shared the first official single "Human Sadness", and it's a doozy. Weighing in at a hefty 11 minutes, the track features a slew of pitch warped electric guitars, booming electronic percussion, and a heaping helping of falsetto. Basically it feels like the Strokes' frontman's Age of Adz moment, and that sort of weirdness is a pretty exciting prospect.

Casablancas and co. have also shared the rest of the album details, including the cover and track list, which you can find below. "Human Sadness" is available to stream below or to download over at iTunes.

You can pre-order the album now through Casablancas' own Cult Records as a vinyl, cassette, MP3, or, strangely, a USB disguised as a lighter.

Julian Casablancas Voidz Tyranny Cover

Julian Casablancas Tyranny Lighter

Tyranny Tracklist:
1. "Take Me in Your Army"
2. "Crunch Punch"
3. "M.utually A.ssured D.estruction"
4. "Human Sadness"
5. "Where No Eagles Fly"
6. "Father Electricity"
7. "Johan Von Bronx"
8. "Business Dog"
9. "Xerox"
10. "Dare I Care"
11. "Nintendo Blood"
12. "Off to War…"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA